This could be a huge upgrade.

LINK:
http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/news/story?id=4384253
nitetrain8603
RealGM
And1: 1,701

Re: Rios to the SOX? 

Post#2 » by nitetrain8603 » Sat Aug 8, 2009 5:08 pm

I don't think it'll happen simply because he has a NTC which he could use in this situation and he would have nowhere to play for this year.
ChronicKerr
Lead Assistant
And1: 59

Post#3 » by ChronicKerr » Sat Aug 8, 2009 5:37 pm

Why would he prefer not to play at all?
TNBT
Forum Mod
Forum Mod
And1: 208

Post#4 » by TNBT » Sun Aug 9, 2009 8:08 am

I'm still pretty new to baseball so I don't understand this whole process. Why would a team waive a player? I'm used to the NBA system where you waive a player when you no longer want them on your team, and they are then free to sign elsewhere.

How does the waiver system work in baseball? If someone can give me an explanation in noob terminology, it would be much appreciated.
Cliff Levingston
RealGM
And1: 1,094

Post#5 » by Cliff Levingston » Mon Aug 10, 2009 1:45 pm

nitetrain8603 wrote:I don't think it'll happen simply because he has a NTC which he could use in this situation and he would have nowhere to play for this year.

Someone on the score this morning said that his limited no-trade clause doesn't kick in til 2011. But even so, why wouldn't he want to come to Chicago and have a chance to get to the playoffs? In that division, he doesn't stand a chance.

Cliff Levingston would be curious about what they would do with the lineup after adding Rios. It'd be REALLY tough to take Pods out of there since he's playing great and is our only true lead=off hitter. Jermaine Dye is Jermaine Dye. Carlos Quentin has had a tough season but he was in the MVP running last year; you can't give up on him yet.
Shootdabull
Veteran
And1: 138

Post#6 » by Shootdabull » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:56 pm

I heard the same thing on the score this morning - limited no-trade clause doesn't kick in til 2011.